NZRPA Players 2018 Player Award Results

NZRPA Players 2018 Player Award Results

The annual New Zealand Rugby Players’ Association Players’ awards have taken place with the players voting via text for their 2018 Player of the Year in seven different categories.

NZPRA CEO Rob Nichol  said, “To win an award, as decided by your peers, is extremely special. We would also like to acknowledge the nominees in each category.

“The voting by the players is always an interesting process with the players taking time to recognising their peers outstanding commitment, attitude, and performance throughout the 2018 season when casting their votes.”

The category nominees and winners are as follows:

Players’ International Men’s Player of the Year
Rieko Ioane
Brodie Retallick
Ben Smith
Codie Taylor
Sam Whitelock
Winner – Codie Taylor

Players’ International Women’s Player of the Year Nominees
Eloise Blackwell
Kendra Cocksedge
Fiao’o Fa’amausili
Stacey Waaka
Selica Winiata
Winner – Kendra Cocksedge

Players’ Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Michaela Blyde
Kelly Brazier
Sarah Goss
Tyler Nathan-Wong
Portia Woodman
Winner – Michaela Blyde

Players’ Men’s Seven’s Player of the Year
Kurt Baker
Scott Curry
Vilimoni Koroi
Sione Molia
Regan Ware
Winner – Vilimoni Koroi

Players’ Super Rugby Player of the Year

Jack Goodhue
Damian McKenzie
Richie Mo’unga
Ardie Savea
Matt Todd
Winner – Richie Mo’unga

Players’ Mitre 10 Cup Player of the Year
TJ Faiane
Akira Ioane
Will Jordan
Luke Romano
Fletcher Smith
Winner – TJ Faiane

Players’ Young Player of the Year
Brett Cameron
Tom Christie
Dalton Papalii
Harry Plummer
Billy Proctor
Winner – Dalton Papalii


More NZRPA News